Adding logon details

To assign logon privileges to the contact you just created:

Steps

  1. In the User name field, click the hyperlink in No user name. Click here to add one. This opens the Add User Name screen.
    Note: You can also access this screen by clicking the contact’s logon ID in the User Name column on the main Contacts screen.
  2. Select the account State (for example, enabled or disabled).
  3. If the user is provisioned via the Forcepoint Data Security Cloud Platform, select the Permission Management Mode:
    • Platform Managed: Permissions are synchronized automatically based on roles and entitlements defined in the Forcepoint Data Security Cloud Platform. In this mode, permission checkboxes in the portal are read-only and are refreshed whenever the user logs on.
    • Portal Managed: Permissions are managed locally in this portal. Entitlement synchronization from the Platform is skipped on logon, allowing administrators to customize and retain portal-specific permissions without them being overwritten.
    Note: The Permission Management Mode option is only visible for users authenticated through the Forcepoint Data Security Cloud Platform (OIDC users).
  4. By default, the email address is used as the contact’s logon ID. To change this, edit the User name field.
  5. Enter and confirm a password for the user in the Password (twice) fields.
    You can type a password for the user and confirm it. Alternatively, click Generate Password to automatically generate a password that complies with your account's password policy.
  6. From the Expire password drop-down list, define when the user’s password should expire (by default, Use account defaults).
  7. To force the user to change their password upon their next logon, select Change password next log on.

Next steps

When the user first logs on, a screen is displayed giving them 8 days to select a password question from the list provided and enter an answer. This password question and answer is used if the user later forgets their password (see Forgotten passwords). If the user does not set a password question within the 8-day limit, they are forced to do so at their next logon.

Note:

If you have enabled two-factor authentication for a user, this page can be used to reset authentication for users who have been locked out, or who are unable to use their authenticator app. Click Reset beside the Two-factor authentication label to require the user to configure authentication again. See Two-factor authentication.

This page also displays the date and time of the user’s last successful and unsuccessful logon, if available.