Configure administrative settings in the SMC
After you start the SMC Client, review the administrative settings in the SMC. These settings are located in the global system properties, Management Server properties, and Log Server properties. Select the values according to the security policy of your organization.
For more details about the product and how to configure features, click Help or
press F1.
Steps
-
Configure the password policy in the global system properties.
- In the SMC Client, select
Settings > Global System Properties. - Click the Password Policy tab.
- Select Enforce Password Settings for All the Administrators and Web Portal Users.
- In the Logon Options section, review the following settings:
- Temporarily Lock Account After Failed Logon Attempts — Select the option, then define the maximum number of failed logon attempts and the length of time to lock the account.
- Lock the Management Client Window After the User Session is Idle for — Select the option, then define the length of idle time. To close the SMC Client when the window is locked, select Close the SMC Client.
- In the Password Complexity Requirements section, review the following settings:
- Minimum Number of Characters in Password — Define the minimum password length.
- Minimum Number of Required Characters — Define the minimum number of uppercase letters, lowercase letters, special characters, and numbers. The total number of required characters must not be larger than the minimum password length.
- Click OK.
- In the SMC Client, select
-
Configure the audit storage setting for the Management Server.
- Select
Network Elements, then browse to Servers. - Right-click the Management Server, then select Properties.
- On the General tab, review the Audit Storage Full setting, then select the action that the Management Server takes when the
audit storage is full:
- Stop Management Server — The Management Server writes an audit entry, stops all processes, and shuts down. This is the default.
- Overwrite Oldest Audit Entries — The Management Server overwrites audit entries, starting with the oldest entries.
- Click OK.
- Select
-
Configure the log storage setting for the Log Server.
- Select
Network Elements, then browse to Servers. - Right-click the Log Server, then select Properties.
- On the General tab, review the Log Storage Full setting, then select the action that the Log Server takes when the log storage
is full:
- Stop Receiving — The Log Server stops receiving log entries. This is the default.
- Overwrite Oldest — The Log Server overwrites log entries, starting with the oldest entries.
- Click OK.
For more information about these settings, see the Enable and define password policy settings and the Overwrite old log or audit entries when log storage is full topics in the Forcepoint Network Security Platform Product Guide.
- Select